Databases A-Z

A descriptive list of all online database subscriptions available to Ridgefield Library cardholders. All are brought to you by the Ridgefield Library unless otherwise noted. Databases with the Iconn logo are brought to you by the Connecticut State Library and are available to all CT library cardholders. Have your library card handy for log-in.

Contact: Reference Desk 203-438-2282 x1015 or x1016 referencedesk@ridgefieldlibrary.org


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A to Z Maps Online

A to Z the USA - Information on each state.

Academic OneFile iConnArticles from leading journals & reference sources.

Ancestry Library - Available only at computers in the Library.

Ancient & Medieval History Online

Auto Repair Reference Center Instructions useful for car owners and professional technicians. Contains information on most major manufacturers, domestic & imported vehicles, repair information for most vintage makes back to 1954.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index iConn Biographical entries contained in 1,000+ volumes & editions of current & retrospective biographical reference sources. Contains citations for over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased. 

Biography Resource Center iConnContains biographies from reliable reference sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to hand-picked web sites.

BookLetters  Reading lists, author directory and more.

Business & Company Resource Center iConnIncludes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. The Newsletters ASAP database is available through this database. Presents detailed company and industry news and information.

Catholic Encyclopedia
Christian Science Monitor iConn1988 to current

Citation Resources from iConnfor APA, MLA, and other styles

Connecticut Grantmakers - Available only from computers in the Library.

Consumer Reports iConn

Discovering Collection iConn Content based on national curriculum standards in history, literature, science, social studies, and more.  Selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including video and audio clips.

Back to Top

EBSCO MasterFILE Elite Full-text coverage for more than 1,000 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, pop culture, sports and more, as well as more than 50 reference books and over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.

Educator's Reference Complete - iConnArticles in the education field for teachers and parents.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Expanded Academic ASAP iConnFull-text articles in social sciences, humanities, education, science & technology journals.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

General Reference Center Gold  iConnMagazine/Journal articles.

Hartford Courant - Classifieds iConnFind jobs in/around Hartford.

Hartford Courant iConn1992 to current

Hartford Courant/New York Times HistoricaliConn

Health Source: Consumer Edition - Provides access to numerous full-text consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books.

Health & Wellness Resource Center - iConnMedical information for health professionals and general readers.

Heritage Quest Online - iConnResearch family histories using U.S. federal census records and other genealogy collections.

Home Improvement Reference Center

iCONN Newsstand - All iCONN newspapers together, including the NYTimes Historical ( 9/18/1851 to 2004).

Informe!iConn
InfoTrac Junior Edition - iConnArticles and curriculum-related materials selected for grades 6-8.
InfoTrac Student Edition - iConnArticles and curriculum-related materials selected for grades 9-12.

Investor’s Business Daily - Available only at computers in the Library.
Back to Top

JobNow - Live job coaching and resume assistance combined with online resources to help you in your job search

Kids InfoBits - iConnArticles, maps, almanacs and more for students in grades 3-5.

Learning Express -  Improve your resume and interviewing skills and use the practice tests for the GRE, Nursing exams, Real Estate exams and many more. Sign up using your library barcode and then log in as a returning user the next time.

Legal Information Reference Center - Thousands of legal forms and access to more than 310 full-text legal reference books, many from Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information
LegalTrac - iConnIndexes bar association journals, law reviews, legal newspapers, etc.

Literature Resource Center - Author biographies/criticism.
London Times iConn1985 to current

Mango - Interactive language learning program

Morningstar Mutual Funds - Check the status of mutual funds.  Available only at computers in the Library.

New York Times iConn1980 to current

NoveList Plus- Now includes nonfiction readers' advisory. 

NoveList K-8 Plus - Guide to both children's fiction and nonfiction.

PrepMe - Customized Online SAT preparation for library patrons.  Enter your library card at the first screen.  At the next screen, click Return To Homepage to get started.

Prices For Antiques (P4A) Put a dollar value on your antiques. 

Primary Search

Reference USA - Business information and residential telephone numbers. 

ReQuest - Connecticut's Statewide Catalog

Ridgefield Authors - Directory of authors with a Ridgefield connection—past, present and just passing through

Searchasaurus

Value Line Investment Survey - Check the status of stocks.  Available only at computers in the Library.

WorldCat - Search for your book title almost anywhere

 

Back to Top

 

Reference Toolkit

Search Our Catalog:


Encyclopedias & Ready Reference

Image Collections

Research Style Guides

Teen Homework Help

Children's Homework Help

Inter-Library Loan

Senior Gold Card Members: Get Personal Help with Any Database

Get a Library Card to Access Online Databases

 Search:

 
for